Meet the Exquisite Quill Authors


Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Hump Day Blurb Share!


This Wednesday meme is all about the blurb. Can a few tempting words of introduction grab a reader's attention? Let's find out!

In comments, tempt us with the blurb
off your book jacket -- just one book please. Don't forget your buy link and website/blog link. Have fun!

 Share your participation with our
ready-to-go tweet. Or make your own.

Discover great reads. Exquisite Quills' Hump Day Blurb Share!    

8 comments:

Savanna Kougar said...

KANDY APPLE AND HER HELLHOUNDS

Kandace doesn’t know why she’s a real witch. Despite her powers, she can’t find her biological parents. When the Tuxedo Twins tempt her with knowledge about her heritage at a charity event, Kandace agrees to dance with the mysterious Supernaturals. Unexpectedly, they are threatened by the omnipresent evil she’s been warned about in her dreams. To keep from being enslaved, Kandace brings forth her greater magick. But, to save her homeworld, she needs her Hellhounds.

Zolivar and Zindale, two of Hades’s most mission-accomplished Hellhounds, see a witch sliding down the bannister after her heist of a painting. Spellbound, they know they’ve found just the right Kandy Apple to lick for Halloween. With every passion, Zin and Zol woo their chosen witch. Will their Triad mate stay once she learns they can’t fall in love like humans? Or will she return to her homeworld?

Available at ~ http://bookstrand.com/kandy-apple-and-her-hellhounds ~ and the usual ebook and print vendors.

HAPPY READING!

Savanna

Savanna Kougar ~ Run on the Wild Side of Romance ~http:savannakougar.com~

Lisa Carlisle said...

Knights of Stone
Highland Gargoyles 1

Gargoyles, tree witches, and wolf shifters have divided the Isle of Stone after a great battle twenty-five years ago. When Kayla, a tree witch, hears about the unconventional rock concerts in the gargoyle’s territory, she sneaks from her coven and into their territory to see for herself. Night after night, she returns to see one in particular shift into human form and play guitar at these unconventional shows.

For several nights, Mason has kept watch for the pixie-like female. He plans to seduce her, thinking she’s a visitor from another island. When he discovers she’s one of the tree witches, he retreats, attempting to keep his distance. The temptation is strong, but forbidden.

Kayla and Mason attempt to meet in secret, but other elements on the isle command their attention. A magical cloak created by the three clans on the island is thinning, leading to repercussions for all the clans. Kayla and Mason are caught in the middle of it, and their actions may change the fate for all.

http://amzn.com/B00O9EHH5E

JoAnne Myers said...

This blurb is from "The Legend of Lake Manor," one tale in my paranormal/mystery anthology, "Wicked Intentions".

Buy Links:

http://www.melange-books.com/authors/joannemyers/WickedIntentions.html

http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?keyWords=wicked+intentions&categoryId=100501

http://www.amazon.com/Wicked-Intentions-JoAnne-Myers-ebook/dp/B00GNRUF40/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1384531716&sr=1-1&keywords=wicked+intentions+myers

Website: http://www.booksandpaintingsbyjoanne.com

Rosemary Morris said...

False Pretences A Traditional Regency Novel
By
Rosemary Morris


Five year-old Annabelle arrived at boarding school fluent in French and English. Separated from her nurse, a dismal shadow blights Annabelle’s life because she does not know who her parents are.
Although high-spirited, Annabelle is financially dependent on her unknown guardian, she refuses to marry a French baron more than twice her age.
Her life in danger, Annabelle is saved by a gentleman, who says he will help her to discover her identity. Yet, from then on nothing is as it seems, and she is forced to run away for the second time to protect her rescuer.
Even more determined to discover her identity, in spite of many false pretences, Annabelle must learn who to trust. Her attempts to unravel the mystery of her birth lead to further danger, despair and unbearable heartache, and even more false pretences, until the only person who has ever wanted to cherish her, reveals the startling truth, and all’s well that ends well.

Rosemary’s books published by MuseItUp Publishing are available from the publisher, Amazon-kindle, ibooks, Nook and other reputable vendors.

Visit www.rosemarymorris.co.uk to view the book trailer, read the first three chapters and reviews.



False Pretences A Traditional Regency Novel
By
Rosemary Morris


Five year-old Annabelle arrived at boarding school fluent in French and English. Separated from her nurse, a dismal shadow blights Annabelle’s life because she does not know who her parents are.
Although high-spirited, Annabelle is financially dependent on her unknown guardian, she refuses to marry a French baron more than twice her age.
Her life in danger, Annabelle is saved by a gentleman, who says he will help her to discover her identity. Yet, from then on nothing is as it seems, and she is forced to run away for the second time to protect her rescuer.
Even more determined to discover her identity, in spite of many false pretences, Annabelle must learn who to trust. Her attempts to unravel the mystery of her birth lead to further danger, despair and unbearable heartache, and even more false pretences, until the only person who has ever wanted to cherish her, reveals the startling truth, and all’s well that ends well.

Rosemary’s books published by MuseItUp Publishing are available from the publisher, Amazon-kindle, ibooks, Nook and other reputable vendors.

E. Ayers said...

A COWBOY'S KISS IN WYOMING
Amazon International Buy Links:
http://authl.it/B0089JFWYI

Novella Sweet Romance 35K

Chessie Chesterfield is from North Carolina. She wears heels, not boots, and she doesn't own jeans. She's scared of horses, and all she wants is to get back on the road. So why is she falling in love with an ex-bull rider? Could the man of her dreams be a cowboy?

Derrick McCullough's days of bull riding are over, along with his marriage and his days of prescription drug usage. He's succumbed to the idea of taking over the family ranch and has worked hard to turn his life around. The last thing he needs is the cutest little filly in a pair of heels who talks with a heavy North Carolinian accent.

A little playful teasing between the two re-injures the leg that took him away from the sport of bull riding. The injury sends him to the hospital for more surgery. Unsure if he'll ever be able to ride a horse again, he feels his life has crashed one more time. To his surprise, the last thing he wants to do is say goodbye to Chessie Chesterfield.

Can knowing someone for only a few days be enough to truly know them? Chessie isn't into settling down and loves her nomadic lifestyle. But Derrick stole her heart, and she wants it back. Confident, cocky, handsome, and a gentleman, Derick has all the right qualities along with that big family who welcomed her. Does she dare return to the Lazy A + 8 ranch?

USA STORE:
http://amzn.com/B0089JFWYI

Rachel Leigh Smith said...

My Name Is A'yen, science fiction romance
A'yen's Legacy, #1

They've taken everything from him. Except his name.

The Loks Mé have been slaves for so long, freedom is a distant myth A'yen Mesu no longer believes. A year in holding, because of his master's murder, has sucked the life from him. Archaeologist Farran Hart buys him to protect her on an expedition to the Rim, the last unexplored quadrant.

Farran believes the Loks Mé once lived on the Rim and is determined to prove it. And win A'yen's trust. But she's a breeder's daughter and can't be trusted.

Hidden rooms, information caches, and messages from a long-dead king change A'yen's mind about her importance. When she's threatened he offers himself in exchange, and lands on the Breeder's Association's radar. The truth must be told. Even if it costs him his heart.

Buy on Amazon: http://ow.ly/BkYqy
For links to all available formats, go here: http://www.rachelleighsmith.com/p/my-name-is-ayen.html

Kris Bock said...

Rattled:

The lost Victorio Peak treasure is the stuff of legends—a heretic Spanish priest’s gold mine, made richer by the spoils of bandits and an Apache raider.

When Erin, a quiet history professor, uncovers a clue that may pinpoint the lost treasure cave, she prepares for adventure. But when a hit and run driver nearly kills her, she realizes she’s not the only one after the treasure. And is Drew, the handsome helicopter pilot who found her bleeding in a ditch, really a hero, or one of the enemy?

Just how far will Erin go to find the treasure and discover what she’s really made of?

“The story has it all—action, romance, danger, intrigue, lost treasure, not to mention a sizzling relationship....”

Rattled is a treasure hunting adventure in New Mexico that will appeal to fans of Terry Odell, Mary Stewart, Lillian Stewart Carl, and Barbara Michaels. Rattled is currently on sale for $.99.

Amazon http://bookShow.me/0615462472 (Amazon with international links, or here's the Amazon US link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004SQSONC/ )
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/rattled-kris-bock/1101304580
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/61405
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/rattled/id443014255

Helen Henderson said...

Magic and Steel - A novella of duty and honor, love and adventure from the Chronicles of the Dragshi.

The Lady Mairin Alidryer of the Dragshi searched the world for the one man who would be her mate. Like the true dragons, once their intended mate was found, the dragon shifters mated for life in this world and the one beyond. However, the man she left behind when she gained the freedom of flight refused to accept the truth—that she did not love him. Now the head of a band of raiders, he swore to have Mairin on her knees in front of him.

All that stands between his plans is the true human, Kedar.

Bodyguard to the Lady Mairin, Kedar dared not fail in his duty—or more dangerous—love her.

Available at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble and elsewhere. For links to all available formats go to Magic and Steel
_____________________________________________
Helen Henderson
Stories of romance and adventure in worlds of imagination